Interview with Special K

Recently, when Artemus Vulgaris and I were performing in Chicago, we had the pleasure of sharing the stage with a firecracker named Special K. We watched as she titillated the crowd with her carefully placed ray-guns, and then the following night, doused herself in fake blood while performing a Ronnie James Dio tribute. We thought she was absolutely charming. I caught up with Special K recently, via e-mail.

DeeDee and Irma”–two salty broads

Hi, Kelly!  How long have you been a performer?

I have been performing solo burlesque now for about a year, but before that I was part of a comedic “caburlesque” duo by the name of “DeeDee and Irma” and we did that for a few years.  Actually, we still perform when we can but we’re sort of on hold until my partner in comedic crime finishes school and gets married! How would you describe your performance style? I would definitely put myself in the “Neo-Burlesque” category for my performance style.  My background and training is in theatre and I always like to tell a story with my burlesque acts, so they tend to be more theatrical and narrative vs. the “classic” striptease.  I also tend to be attracted to more contemporary music, things with a good beat that really get me pumped and music that the audience can really relate to and engage with (i.e. Lady Gaga, MGMT, Dio, Mariah Carey, etc.).  I would like to get more classical acts in my repertoire, but I find it more difficult to tell a story with those pieces and I really want the audience to be interested in me and what I’m conveying to them.  The getting naked part should just be a sweet bonus.

How did your stage name come about?

My stage name is a nickname I have had for years, since college (many years ago!).  I think I actually started calling myself “Special K” because I was enamored with Seth Green’s “white boy wanna-be gangsta character” from the film “Can’t Hardly Wait” where his real name is Kenny but he calls himself “Special K.”  I feel a kinship because I’m your average white girl but I like to think that I’ve got some street cred and wouldn’t hesitate to cut a bitch, if need be!  Anyways, it’s just been my nickname for so long it only seemed right that it should follow me into my burlesque persona.  And it’s a little different, not necessarily feminine or suggestive or sexy like a lot of burlesque names are.  Some days I wish my stage name was prettier, but for the most part, I dig the Special K!

What attracted you to burlesque?

I sort of fell into burlesque about 3 years ago when I moved to Chicago from Madison, WI where my friend and I had developed these ridiculous, vaudevillian-style characters that we named “DeeDee and Irma.”  We had friends who were involved in the burlesque scene in Chicago and so we started doing a few shows as DeeDee and Irma and it seemed to go over really well, because they’re not your average burlesque duo; they’re sort of “deconstructed” “anti-burlesque”–often a bit vulgar and unsexy but always very, very sassy.  So we did that as long as we could before my partner moved back to Madison, and by that time I was quite involved with the Chicago burlesque scene and had built up a bunch of solo act ideas that I wanted to try to make reality, so I took a deep breath and embarked on my solo burlesque career as Special K.

Who makes your costumes?

The majority of my costumes are compliments of the Salvation Army or other thrift stores, often with embellishments and alterations by me (mostly just hot gluing sequins and shiny things willy-nilly).  I also get a lot of accessory pieces (gloves, nylons, makeup, etc.) from the awesome little wig and beauty supply stores that are all over the city–great burlesque stuff for super-cheap.  And when I’ve saved up enough pennies I go to my girl Kristy White, a Chicago-based costumer who specializes in custom corsets, burlesque and costume pieces.  She’s affordable, super fun and easy to work with and super nice (that’s my plug for Kristy White, folks!).

 

Performing “Blue” at the Girlie-Q “Freakshow”

What do YOU like to see on stage?  What entertains and inspires you?

I enjoy seeing a variety of acts on stage–I tend to connect more with acts that are theatrical in nature or have strong characters or stories.  But I absolutely love and respect the classic striptease.  Really, if either style can be done well and with skill and with personality, it’s enjoyable.  A lot of it is just what the performer gives the audience–if they exude confidence and a feeling that they are having fun and enjoying themselves, the audience will totally be right there with you.  I am also enamored with fan dancing–so gorgeous!

What’s your pet peeve, onstage or backstage?

I really can’t abide by any performer who has the self-entitled diva attitude.  Burlesque should be a collaboration and a celebration between performers, not a ridiculous competition–each performer is truly unique and has something special to bring to the table and that should be respected.  I also can’t stand poorly organized shows where things are not clearly planned or communicated (i.e. someone to pick up clothes after an act and do set-up and sound, call time, being up front about payment, prompt payment, etc).

Do you have a favorite memorable burlesque moment or story you’d like to share?

As I had mentioned earlier, by the time I finally started doing solo burlesque, I had a small arsenal of act ideas that I really wanted to make reality.  The most important one, the one that really pushed me to do solo burlesque, was an act that was inspired by a very painful, hurtful, disappointing breakup that really messed me up for awhile.  Music is such therapy, and I listened a lot to “The Birthday Massacre” during that period of time.  One of their songs, “Blue,” was the inspiration for my act where I was a pretty baby doll that comes to life and sets up a tea party but her guest never shows up and so she starts to lose it, methodically slicing off different parts of her outfit (sleeves, bodice, etc), revealing far more sinister undergarments than her cutesy doll dress would suggest.  As the song reaches its climax, she finally just completely loses it and destroys the entire tea party.  Obviously, the costume and the set up was very complicated and detailed and involved–and messy, but I had just had to do it, had to bring this idea to life, had to purge these emotions.  So I asked Kristy to make me the costume (which then sat for almost a year).  I was finally afforded the opportunity to perform the act a few months ago in Girlie-Q’s “Freak Show” production.  I was so nervous and scared about how it would go and how people would perceive it (would they all just think, “this chick is crazy and has no business doing burlesque”) but it went really well, felt really good and I got such nice compliments afterwards! One woman came up and told me that she really empathized with the act and how it feels to be in that crappy place where someone you care about leaves you and your first impulse is just to lose it and break stuff.  My boyfriend was also in the audience, and he was floored and really proud of me.  It felt good to finally “get it off my chest” as it were (no burlesque pun intended there)!

Who are your favorite performers, both vintage and contemporary (burlesque or not)?

Favorite performers?  Let’s see…contemporary burlesque favorites include Murray Hill and Dirty Martini and Justin Bond (NYC), Anna Fur Laxis (UK), Trixie Little and the Evil Hate Monkey (Baltimore), an amazing performer named Meow Meow (not sure where she’s from, but I saw her perform at the Spiegeltent in NYC several years ago).  I also really appreciate my peers here in Chicago and all of the hard work, innovation and diversity they bring to the burlesque table.

What’s an interesting fact about yourself that you don’t think your fans would guess?

I am very squeamish about real blood, even though I cover myself in fake blood in my Dio act and love gore and horror films!  Also, I have horrible stage fright and can actually be quite shy.

Do you have any advice for burlesque performers just starting out?

Performing “Electric Feel” at Viva La Muerte’s “Sci-Fi Striptacular”

Advice for newbies:  Trust in your instincts and never compromise your integrity as a performer.  Work hard to develop your personality and to create quality acts with meaning and heart.  Lately I have been sensing a mentality with some of the newer performers that they think it’s okay to just go up on stage and do whatever, and as long as you strip and end up in pasties, you’ve got a legitimate act.  Burlesque truly is a subtle art, and to be successful it has to be done well and with the right intentions. Also, just have fun and know that confidence is a HUGE part of being a strong burlesque performer (or any performer); it’s not necessarily what you’ve got, it’s more about how you use it!  I am so very, very far from being an expert at burlesque and feel very humble in comparison to a lot of my Chicago peers.  It’s hard work, but it’s worth the rush when you’re up on stage!


Leave a comment